APM Project Management Awards 2016

The APM Project Management Awards have been celebrating project management excellence for over 20 years.

The Awards recognise the very best the profession has to offer – from aspiring young project managers to experienced project professionals managing complex projects and programmes both in the UK and overseas.

This year’s awards ceremony, hosted by TV new presenter and journalist Kate Silverton at the London Hilton on 7 November, saw Royal Mail scoop the coveted Project Management Company of the Year, with Heathrow claiming Programme of the Year and the Metropolitan Police, Project of the Year.

Other winners on the night included Spencer Hobbs – Network Rail, Project Professional of the Year, and Joshua Macey – MOD, Defence Equipment & Support Organisation – Young Professional of the Year.

The finalists for the APM Project Management Awards 2016 are:

Project Management Company of the Year Award:
  • Gate One
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Pcubed (Program Planning Professionals Ltd)
  • Royal Mail

Project of the Year Award: (Sponsored by QinetiQ)
  • 5 Broadgate - AECOM
  • A465 Heads of the Valleys Dualling: Section 3 Brynmawr to Tredegar - Arcadis LLP
  • Digital Interviewing Project - Metropolitan Police Service (MPS)
  • Dyson - Phase 1 Expansion Project - Turner & Townsend
  • Nottingham Express Transit (NET) Phase Two - Nottingham City Council  / Turner & Townsend

IT Project of the Year:
  • An Ultrafast Broadband Solution for the UK - BT
  • Group Conduct Risk Appetite Metrics (CRAMs) - Lloyds Banking Group (LBG)
  • LSTOC Upgrade and Integration - Transport for London
  • Terminal 1 IT Safeguarding Project - Atkins – Heathrow

Programme of the Year Award: (Sponsored by Program Framework)
  • At Sea Demonstration 2015 - QinetiQ
  • High Performance Computer Programme - Met Office
  • Terminal 3 Integrated Baggage - Heathrow Airport Ltd

Project Professional of the Year Award: (Sponsored by Atos)
  • John Beattie - Royal Mail
  • Ryan Harris - Centrica Connected Home
  • Spencer Hobbs - Network Rail
  • Chris Holt - BAE Systems Plc

Young Project Professional of the Year Award:
  • James Hall - NATS
  • Joshua Macey - Defence Equipment & Support
  • Shayley Mann - XPO Logistics
  • Lucy Walton - BAE Systems

The Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration: (Sponsored by The Nichols Group)
  • Good To Great Transformation - Nottingham City Council
  • London Underground 4LM - Transport for London
  • Catherine Holmes - MTS Health Ltd
  • Dr Edward Ramdaloo - KZN Department of Public Works

Highly Commended: United Utilities Reservoir Embankment Moss Control Trial - United Utilities PLC

Social Project of the Year Award:
  • Charity Eye Camp, Benin City, Edo State Nigeria - Prime Opticals and Eye Clinic
  • KUZA - Adam Smith International
  • Specialist Support Project - Nationwide Building Society
  • The Rise SEN School - Arcadis LLP

Highly Commended: Kenya Essential Education Programme - Adam Smith International

Overseas Project of the Year Award: (Sponsored by Ramboll)
  • Roy Hill Project - Roy Hill Holdings (project owner) and WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff (project management contractor)
  • ON TOP from DOWN UNDER ! – A global project delivered from nowhere to 9G! - BAE Systems
  • GSK EBOLA Z CHAD3-004 & 005 Projects - Quintiles
  • Quest - Shell

Academic Awards: (Sponsored by BAE Systems)

Geoffrey Trimble:

  • Rebecca Harnett - Cranfield University
  • Mark Hutton -Edinburgh Napier University
  • James McCaffery - British Army
  • Mark Sorrell - Henley Business School

Herbert Walton:

  • Winner to be announced on Awards' night

Brian Willis:

  • To  be announced on Awards' night

APM Project Management Awards 2016 winners and case studies:

Project Management Company of the Year 2016

IT Project of the Year 2016 sponsored by T-Systems

Project of the Year 2016 sponsored by QinetiQ

Programme of the Year 2016 sponsored by Program Framework

Project Professional of the Year 2016 sponsored by ATOS

Young Project Professional of the Year 2016

  • Joshua Macey - MOD, Defence Equipment & Support Organisation

The Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration sponsored by The Nichols Group

Social Project of the Year 2016 sponsored by Project Journal

Overseas Project of the Year 2016 sponsored by Ramboll

Sir Monty Finniston

  • Peder Berg

Academic awards

Geoffrey Trimble Award 2016 sponsored by BAE Systems

  • James McCaffery

Herbert Walton Award 2016 sponsored by BAE Systems

  •  Amgad Badewi - Kent Business School

Brian Willis Award 2016 sponsored by BAE Systems

  • Andrew Snook - Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Previous winners




APM Awards 2016 sponsors

Headline sponsor
  • Shell
Category sponsors
  • Atos 
  • BAE Systems 
  • Nichols Group 
  • Program Framework 
  • QinetiQ
  • Ramboll
  • Shell
  • T-Systems

2016 APM Awards Host

Kate Silverton is an accomplished, versatile journalist and key member of the national News team. Having presented Breakfast and News 24, she is now a regular anchor for the national  Six O’Clock and One O’Clock news.

Kate studied Arabic and Middle EasterKate Silvertonn politics and gained a BSc in psychology. After a spell in corporate finance, she moved into journalism and initially joined the regional news  programme Look North before moving across to Tyne  Tees. She has covered major assignments at home and abroad, won praise for her reporting from Iraq and has been named the BT  Journalist of the Year.

Kate has been a keen traveller since her first expedition with Operation Raleigh to Zimbabwe in 1990. She has subsequently travelled extensively throughout Africa and the Middle East, visiting Lesotho, Uganda and Oman. She has  lived on a Kibbutz in Israel and with Bedouin tribesmen in Egypt.

Whether reporting from the Green Zone in Basra or the red carpet at The Oscars, Kate is professional and engaging. After dinner audiences have been treated to a peek behind the scenes  and to an account of Kate’s traumatic  experience with a line of rocks off the coast of Wales where she went white-water kayaking.

Finalist interviews

View more


APM Awards 2016

View more

Awards 2015

The 2015 APM Project Management Awards saw a record-breaking number of entries.

Leading practitioners and ground-breaking projects from a variety of organisations ranging from Crossrail to the National Trust and Sky to the Met Office competed for the highly-coveted APM Awards trophy.

Find Out More

Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.