APM Project Management Awards 2017

APM is happy to announce the category winners of the APM Project Management Awards 2017, sponsored by RPC UK Ltd

The awards recognise the very best the profession has to offer – from aspiring young project managers to experienced project professionals managing complex projects and programmes both in the UK and overseas. This year there was a broader choice of categories in order to give a wider range of projects, programmes and professionals from diverse sectors the opportunity to enter and display their achievements.

Celebrating project management excellence for over 20 years, the glittering APM Awards ceremony was held on Monday 20 November 2017 at Old Billingsgate.

Awards host - John Pienaar

John Pienaar is deputy political editor and presenter of the weekly Westminster round-up Pienaar’s Politics on Radio 5Live.

A seasoned reporter, he sees his job as beating a path through the forest of Government rhetoric. Ever since his original, often controversial parliamentary sketch for the Independent, he has acted as tour guide and translator of goings-on in the Westminster village. John originally trained at South London Press and later became an Old Bailey Correspondent. Instantly recognisable to television news audiences, John has spent hundreds of hours standing in the rain outside 10 Downing Street. John follows a string of high profile personalities who have hosted the event in previous years, such as  Kate Silverton, Justin Webb, Steph McGovern, Fi Glover, Chris Hollins, Angela Rippon, Bill Turnbull, Adrian Chiles and Andrew Castle.


Mark Geoghegan - Defence Equipment & Support

View video

David Cross - Rolls-Royce plc.

View video

Project and programme awards 

Establishing the National Cyber Security Centre - NCSC (overall winner)

1. IT and Technology Project of the year

Wessex Integrated Programme Office Workbank App - Arup

View video

2. Transformation project of the year

Establishing the National Cyber Security Centre - NCSC

View video

3. Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure project of the year

Spire Manchester Hospital - Turner & Townsend

View video

4. Specialists project of the year

Road/Rail Transfer Point (RRTP), Glen Douglas - WYG

View video

Community Action Nepal – Building Back Better - WYG

Do less. Do it better. - The Open University

View video

Tackling Poverty in Renfrewshire - Renfrewshire Council

View video

South Korean Jangbogo III Project - Babcock Defence Systems Technology

Other award categories

  • Project Management Company of the Year

Royal Dutch Shell plc (Shell)

View video

  • Project Management Consultancy of the Year

Pcubed (Program Planning Professionals Ltd)

View video

Western Link HVDC Interconnector Project - Siemens Prysmian HVDC Western Link Consortium

The Transformation of Malaysia’s Education System (Wave 1) - Khadijah Abdullah, Education Performance and Delivery Unit (PADU)

Academic awards

  • Herbert Walton Award

Karen Thompson - Bournemouth University

  • Geoffrey Trimble Award

Deborah Susan Hather - Cranfield University

  • Brian Willis Award

Grace Gerety - Lloyds Banking Group

Awards 2016

The 2016 awards ceremony, hosted by TV new presenter and journalist Kate Silverton at the London Hilton on 7 November, saw Royal Mail scoop the coveted Project Management Company of the Year, with Heathrow claiming Programme of the Year and the Metropolitan Police, Project of the Year. 


The Awards process step-by-step

For further clarification on each stage, click on the infographic below:

Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.