Skip to content

Finalists for APM Awards 2015 announced

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

APM Awards finalists 2015This year the APM Project Management Awards will be the biggest ever as the finalists are announced following a record-breaking number of entries for the second year running.

Leading practitioners and ground-breaking projects from a variety of organisations ranging from Crossrail to National Trust and Sky to the Met Office will be competing for the highly-coveted APM Awards trophy on 2nd November in London.

The APM Awards sponsored by T-Systems has been recognising the invaluable contribution project management and project professionals make in all sectors of society for over 20 years. Alongside the finalists will be a selection of entries that have been merited as highly commended.

Competing for the title of Project Management Company of the Year sponsored by 20|20 Business Insight will be DHL Supply Chain UKI, National Trust, QinetiQ and Thales UK.

National Trust has also been shortlisted in Programme of the Year sponsored by Program Framework. The conservation charity’s Renewable Energy Investment Programme will be up against the Airspace Capacity Management Programme from NATS, Sky’s Strategic MFT (Mobile Field Technology) and the Delivery of the UK Ministry of Defence’s Rotary Wing Strategy 2009-2015 from UK Ministry of Defence, Defence Equipment & Support.

QinetiQ have also been shortlisted for two awards as staff member Jonathan Flaherty has been named in the Project Professional of the Year category sponsored by Atos. Competing alongside Jonathan will be Barbara Chomicka from Arcadis EC Harris, Artelia Projects UK Limited’s Stephen Prowse and Shane O'Connor from Turner and Townsend.

Young Project Professional of the Year sponsored by Doosan Babcock includes Sarah De Boer from Centrica Energy, Thomas Clarke from LV=, National Grid’s Rebecca Scott and Joseph Bryan from XPO Logistics.

NATS’ Collaboration on Oceanic Airspace and System Tools (COAST) is their second chance of glory for the sought-after accolade of Project of the Year sponsored by QinetiQ. Also competing will be Arup’s Guy’s Tower, MASS Transformation from BAE Systems Munitions and Royal Mail’s Customer and You.

The APM Awards features two new categories for 2015. IT Project of the Year sponsored T-Systems sees two entries from Heathrow Airport Ltd for Terminal 2 and their Terminal 3 Integrated Baggage Facility. They will be up against Phoenix from Gate One Limited and a new system to handle high value taxpayers from HM Revenue and Customs.

The inaugural Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration sponsored by The Nichols Group sees competition from Crossrail for their Wallasea Wild Coast Project, Met Office’s Dementia Carer Friendly Met Office project, Supporting Criminal Justice Reform in Jordan from Ministry of Justice and the Lower Secondary Curriculum, Assessment and Examination Reform Programme, Uganda (CURASSE) from Mott MacDonald Ltd trading as Cambridge Education.

The Shell sponsored HSSE (health, safety, security and environment) Award this year will be contested between AECOM Ltd’s Global Alliance and EC Harris (UK) Ltd for EC Harris ARCADIS as service provider to GlaxoSmithKline to achieve Health and Safety Excellence.

Adam Smith International has three entries in Overseas Project of the Year sponsored by Ramboll. Their Nepal Macroeconomic Reform Programme, Nigeria Infrastructure Advisory Facility and Tamkeen Syria: Creating change will be up against Quintiles’ Sanofi Pasteur Dengue Vaccine Programme.

Adam Smith International also feature in Social Project of the Year supported by Project journal for their Solar Nigeria project and will be vying for the trophy with Artelia for their Kennington Park Adventure Playground and One O’Clock Club, Engineers for Overseas Development for their EFOD NW Grain for Gain Food Store and the London Major Programmes Apprenticeship from n:gaged limited.

Competing for the Geoffrey Trimble Award for the best Master’s post-graduate dissertation will be Chris Diggens from BT Global Services, Joanne Bradshaw from Department for Work and Pensions, Sandra Eaton from Ministry of Defence and Caroline McGrath from University of Sunderland Faculty of Applied Sciences.

The Geoffrey Trimble Award is part of the academic awards sponsored once again by BAE Systems as they partner the profession in ‘advancing project management professionalism through education’.

The Herbert Walton Award will be given to the best PhD dissertation submitted during the year at Doctorate level and the Brian Willis Award will be handed out for the year’s highest mark gained in an APMP: The APM Project Management Qualification exam.

Also handed out on the night will be the prestigious Sir Monty Finniston Award, which is the equivalent to a ‘lifetime achievement’ award recognising significant contribution to the profession.

The APM Awards ceremony on Monday 2nd November is set to be a night to remember as it will be hosted by Radio 4 presenter for the Today programme Justin Webb at the stunning London Hilton on Park Lane.

Make sure you don’t miss out on what is set to be the most anticipated event of the year by booking your place today.


Book now for APM Awards 2015




The APM Awards is once again supported by some of the professions’ leading names:

APM Awards sponsors 2015



Ibis Trading Ltd, registered in England No: 6536096, is a subsidiary of Association for Project Management, which is registered as a charity in England & Wales (No: 290927). Registered Office: Ibis House, Regent Park, Summerleys Road, Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire HP27 9LE.


Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.