Skip to content

National Trust and Heathrow Airport among winners at APM Awards

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

National Trust and Heathrow Airport Ltd were among the winners at Monday night’s record-breaking APM Project Management Awards 2015 sponsored by T-Systems.

APM Award winner National TrustIn a year that saw the highest ever number of entries, the National Trust (pictured right) saw off tough competition to claim the coveted Project Management Company of the Year award sponsored by 20|20 Business Insight

The conservation charity made a commitment to improving their capability, which led to the introduction of the Project Management Framework and the establishment of a project support office while continually investing in developing the skills of their staff.

Heathrow Airport Ltd (pictured below), shortlisted twice in IT Project of the Year sponsored by T-Systems, was the first-time winner of this award for their Terminal 3 Integrated Baggage Facility.

The innovative project was integrated with existing systems without interrupting live airport operations.

The second brand-new category for 2015 celebrated the legacy of former APM chairman and Nichols Group founder, Mike Nichols.

The first Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration sponsored by The Nichols Group went to Mott MacDonald Ltd trading as Cambridge Education. Their Lower Secondary Curriculum, Assessment and Examination Reform Programme in Uganda (CURASSE) resulted in resulted in millions of children receiving an education fit for the 21st century.

MASS Transformation from BAE Systems Munitions was announced by ceremony host and Radio 4 presenter Justin Webb as Project of the Year sponsored by QinetiQ.

Stephen Prowse from Artelia Projects UK Limited was crowned Project Professional of the Year sponsored by Atos. Stephen picked up the trophy for managing the restoration project of 13 listed buildings at Bletchley Park and turning them into exciting visitor attractions.

Programme of the Year sponsored by Program Framework was awarded to UK Ministry of Defence, Defence Equipment & Support for the Delivery of the UK Ministry of Defence’s Rotary Wing Strategy 2009-2015.

Centrica Energy’s Sarah De Boer won Young Project Professional of the Year sponsored by Doosan Babcock for restoring and increasing the production of an oil well in the Chestnut Field by applying a scale dissolver, a first for the company. 

With a deviation from tradition the Sir Monty Finniston Award for a lifetime of achievement went to the International Project Management Association (IPMA). Collecting the trophy on behalf of the organisation in what is their 50th anniversary year was IPMA president Reinhard Wagner.

AECOM Ltd’s Global Alliance project won the Shell HSSE (health, safety, security and environment) Award for pioneering a unique alliance structure that allowed innovation across AECOM and BP to flourish during their 17 year partnership.

APM Award winner Heathrow AirportWith an impressive three projects shortlisted in the Overseas Project of the Year category sponsored by Ramboll, Adam Smith International was the eventual winner. TAMKEEN Syria: Creating Change is the first major UK non-humanitarian programme in a country suffering brutal civil conflict to build local governance structures in ungoverned spaces.

Social Project of the Year, sponsored by Project journal, went to Engineers for Overseas Development for their EFOD NW Grain for Gain Food Store, a charity project for Mam Riang Women’s Co-operative in the Ugandan village of Nyakoi.

The APM Academic Awards, sponsored by BAE Systems, saw Sandra Eaton from Ministry of Defence walk away with the Geoffrey Trimble Award for the best master’s post-graduate dissertation.

Sanwara Gunasekera from Ulster University was announced as the winner of this year’s Herbert Walton Award. The main outcome of her PhD dissertation was a framework to assess and improve integration of supply chains within the complexities of the construction project environment.

Babcock International Group’s Nicholas Dewey was awarded the Brian Willis Award for the year’s highest mark gained in an APMP: The APM Project Management Qualification exam.

The APM Project Management Awards has been celebrating success across all sectors of society for over 20 years.

The finalists and winners attract national publicity and a deserved career boost as a result, both at business and at individual level.

Those who have walked away with an APM Awards trophy can be proud to claim to be amongst the very best in the profession.


The APM Awards is once again supported by some of the professions’ leading names:

APM Awards sponsors 2015



Ibis Trading Ltd, registered in England No: 6536096, is a subsidiary of Association for Project Management, which is registered as a charity in England & Wales (No: 290927). Registered Office: Ibis House, Regent Park, Summerleys Road, Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire HP27 9LE.


Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.