Skip to content

Olympic Delivery Authority wins three awards

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

ODA wins 3 APM Awards
The body responsible for building the London 2012 Olympic Park won three times at last nights APM Project Management Awards. The Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) won two awards for their construction programme of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games and also walked away with a special recognition award.

After winning Programme of the Year, sponsored by Program Framework, and the prestigious BNFL Award ODA chief executive Dennis Hone collected the special recognition award from the ceremonys host, TV presenter Chris Hollins. Dennis was joined on stage with colleagues from the construction and transport departments who were all involved in one of the biggest and most successful projects this country has ever seen and the learning legacy it left behind.

ODA chairman Sir John Armitt CBE also won the lifetime achievement award for his outstanding contribution to the project management profession. APM president Dr Martin Barnes CBE was filmed presenting Sir John, an Honorary Fellow of APM, with his Sir Monty Finniston Award. Sir John, who was unable to make the ceremony on the evening, said: For me this is a fantastic award. The fact that it is on behalf of APM means a great deal to somebody who has spent so much of his life in project management.

Im very conscious of the fact that I receive it on behalf of hundreds of people who have supported me over the years in the projects that we have worked on together and been able to deliver successfully. Thank you for this wonderful award and the recognition that it brings.

Network Rail wins two awards

Network Rail did the project manager double at the Microsoft Project sponsored event of APMs 40th anniversary year. Richard Walker won Project Manager of the Year, sponsored by Programme Recruitment, while Christian Irwin walked away with Young Project Manager of the Year sponsored by QA Aikona.

This year saw a brand new category, sponsored by Shell, celebrate health and safety in the profession. The winner of the brand new Shell HSSE (health, safety, security and environment) Award was AstraZeneca Global Engineering for managing HSSE on construction projects in India, China and Russia.

The organisation that can call itself Project Management Company of the Year is Arup. Julie Wood and Thea Oakley were presented with the award on behalf of the global company that starts 100 new projects a day and has 10,000 projects live at any one time.

Project of the Year: Green Park underground station

The much coveted Project of the Year Award sponsored by Siemens was won by Transport for London for creating step-free access at Green Park underground station. Marking a key milestone in Transport for Londons readiness for the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the project was delivered ahead of schedule and under budget in such a constrained environment.

Allen Construction Consultancys refurbishment of the historic Old Fire Station building in the centre of Oxford won Community Project of the Year sponsored by Project magazine. Opened in November last year the building was transformed into a community asset for the city providing a new CRISIS Skylight, an arts centre and a caf.

Overseas Project of the Year went to EC Harris International Ltd for their Al Wahda Master Development in Abu Dhabi. The inner city development is made up of a 5-star hotel, shopping mall consisting of 450 retail units, commercial tower and 300 apartments.

The APM Academic Awards, sponsored by BAE Systems, saw Carl Dutton from BT walk away with the Geoffrey Trimble Award for the best masters post-graduate dissertation. While Sarah Scott from Atos won the Brain Willis Award for the years highest mark gained in an APMP exam.

Awarding excellence for 19 years

The APM Awards got off to a superb start with a drinks reception sponsored by Thales. It has become known as the most prestigious night in the professional calendar and has been awarding project management excellence for 19 years. Recognising the very best in the profession, winners of the most sought-after trophy in the industry have demonstrated the invaluable contribution project management and project professionals make in all sectors of society. The finalists and winners attract national publicity and a deserved career boost as a result, both at business and at individual level.

Those who have walked away with an APM Awards trophy can be proud to claim to be amongst the best projects, programmes and professionals in the country.

See the complete list of APM Project Management Awards 2012 winners.


Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.