Project management awards have lift off in Belfast

Save for later


Posted by APM on 29th Apr 2015

Project management awards have lift off in Belfast

Project management professionals in the business and public sectors in Northern Ireland are invited to enter the Association for Project Management (APM) Awards 2015. Launching the programme in the Merchant Hotel Belfast recently, NI Branch Chair Gerry Coghlan said the categories reflect the range and diversity of modern project management across both the private and public sectors and said "local practitioners should be encouraged by Allstate NI, runner-up in the highly prestigious Project Management Company of the Year category in 2014."

In recognition of the growth in project management professionals within the IT sector a new category for 2015, IT Project of the Year, has been added alongside the established APM Awards’ categories. The winner of the IT award will be the organisation that has delivered excellent results to the customer, stakeholders and wider community through successful delivery of their chosen information technology project that has been effectively planned, controlled and executed.

The judges, who include local lecturer, and APM Honorary Fellow, Mike Browne of the Ulster University, are looking for challenging, complex IT projects demonstrating the most effective use of project management techniques, the greatest results through innovation and lessons learned for the profession. Whilst Project Professional of the Year and Young Project Professional of the Year will place an emphasis on the story of the person behind the project.

Entry to the APM Awards 2015 is free, and is open to both members and non-members of APM. The deadline for entry is Wednesday 1st July 2015. Finalists will then be invited to attend the awards dinner in the London Hilton, Park Lane on 2nd November. For further details on how to enter visit the APM website at

Background on the award categories:

Project Professional awards
Project Professional of the Year – sponsored by Atos
Young Project Professional of the Year - sponsored by Doosan Babcock

Project and programme awards
Project of the Year
Programme of the Year – sponsored by Program Framework
Social Project of the Year
Overseas Project of the Year
IT Project of the Year – sponsored by T-Systems

Other categories
Project Management Company of the Year – sponsored by 20|20 Business Insight
Shell HSSE Award – sponsored by Shell

Academic awards – sponsored by BAE Systems
Herbert Walton Award
Geoffrey Trimble Award
Brian Willis Award

For further information please contact:  Michele Filippi, MF Communication, Tel: (0)28 90769428

Posted in Northern Ireland
Comments on this site are moderated. Please allow up to 24 hours for your comment to be published on this site. Thank you for adding your comment.

{{item.AuthorName}} {{item.AuthorName}} says on {{item.DateFormattedString}}:

Share this page

Recommended blogs

Save for later


Recommended news

Save for later


Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.