APM qualification information

APM qualifications are an essential part of the APM FIVE Dimensions of Professionalism and are designed to meet your needs throughout your career. Benefits of choosing the APM qualifications are:

Incorporating a mix of tools, techniques, processes and skills they offer a progressive structure that demonstrates your project management achievements.

They demonstrate to your employer, clients and suppliers that you are a skilled and committed project professional. Through their alignment with IPMA’s 4 level Certification Programme they also provide recognition throughout the world.

Candidates who pass the APMP, Practitioner Qualification or CPM qualifications are entitled to register their details on the International Project Management Association (IPMA) website at Level B, C or D (according to the qualification held).  If you would like your details to be posted on the site you should contact the qualifications team. The fee for IPMA registration is £24.00 (APMP) or £39.00 (Practitioner) or £55.00 (Certificated Project Manager), which is payable to APM.

Search a register of Individuals who have been been certified in IPMA’s Four Level Certification system.

APM qualifications are developed using the APM Body of Knowledge, using well-established project management knowledge.

Knowledge-based APM qualifications and the APM Body of Knowledge 6th edition
The Introductory Certificate (The APM Project Fundamentals Qualification) and the APMP (The APM Project Management Qualification) have been refreshed and aligned with the APM Body of Knowledge 6th edition and are now available.

High level timetable: Refresh of APM Introductory Certificate and APMP

Consultation and refresh of the IC and APMPCompleted
New syllabus issuedCompleted
First exams available against the new syllabusNow available
(Recommended) final date for registration of candidates against v5 syllabusSeptember 2014
Final exams taken against v5 syllabusDecember 2014

New competence-based APM qualifications at IPMA Levels C-A

Following extensive research and consultation, four new qualifications have been developed in line with IPMA regulations:

The APM Project Practitioner Qualification (IPMA Level C)

The APM Project Leadership Qualification (IPMA Level B)

The APM Programme Strategy Qualification (IPMA Level A)

The APM Portfolio Strategy Qualification (IPMA Level A)

These brand new qualifications have been aligned with the refreshed APM Competence Framework which is due for release in October 2014.

A pilot study of these qualifications is now taking place before registration of candidates from 5th January 2015. a sample unit from The APM Project Practitioner Qualification, illustrative of all of the new qualifications, is available here along with details of the other unit headings within each qualification.

The structure of the assessments, designed to draw on evidence of work-based application of competence, will be as follows:

Initial submission

Portfolio assessment

Case study examination (The APM Project Practitioner Qualification only)


If you have any queries relating to the pilot study for the new qualifications, please contact us

High level timetable: Refresh and design of IPMA Level C-A qualifications

Consultation and development of IPMA Levels C-ACompleted
New assessment criteria completed for pilot candidates and available to accredited providersCompleted
Pilot studyJuly - December 2014
First date for registration of candidates for new levels C-A5th January 2015

Final assessment centres for APM PQ completed by*

30th September 2015

* - Current PQ holders (IPMA Level C) are not affected by this change. 

APM Accredited Training Providers offer you the best training and development support throughout your career, and specifically to help you achieve APM qualifications.

APM membership
Qualifications offer routes into APM membership. Automatic eligibility for Full Membership those obtaining the APM Practitioner Qualification (IPMA Level C) and discounted membership for those taking the Introductory Certificate (The APM Project Fundamentals Qualification) and APMP (The APM Project Management Qualification).

APM Registered Project Professional (RPP)
APM qualifications are recognised as satisfying some of the requirements for APM Registered Project Professional. APM recognises these achievements as evidence of knowledge, CPD or competence, depending on the particular qualification. For more information on APM's pan-sector standard please visit the APM Registered Project Professional (RPP) webpage.

Download our qualifications brochure

Download our qualifications application form

Qualifications frequently asked questions

APM Qualifications and the Body of Knowledge 6th edition