Our qualifications are currently being offered online, find out more about how to sit one of our online exams by reading our online guidance  

Risk Certificate

What is the APM Project Risk Management Single Subject Certificate?

APM, the chartered body for the project profession, has a Project Risk Management Single Subject Certificate qualification which has two levels. It is designed to build on the knowledge gained in the APM Project Management Qualification (PMQ) or similar project management qualifications.

Read more about risk management.

How can I study for this qualification?

You can study through our accredited training providers who offer the APM Project Risk Management Single Subject Certificate in many different formats including classroom, e-learning, distance learning, public and in-house courses. View full list of accredited training providers.

A number of accredited providers offer the exam online, allowing you to take it anywhere at any time through live online invigilation.

We also offer the APM Risk Qualification as a self-study open online exam which you can take from the comfort of your own home at a time that suits you.

Level 1 sample paper

Level 2 sample paper

Project Risk Analysis and Management Guide, 2nd edition

*Online exams now available*

We have worked with leading training providers and exam experts to create a platform that is simple to use, allowing candidates to focus on passing their exams. Candidates can now sit an online training course and gain their qualification without leaving their home. 

Online examinations: what to expect

Our exams are now available online through the following selected APM Accredited Training Providers. Explore the links to book directly.

It is possible to take Level 2 without taking Level 1; however, Level 2 assumes the knowledge of the Level 1 syllabus. 

Full details can be found in the candidate guidance notes.

Level 1 & 2 Combined Candidate Guidance Notes

  • Level 1 is a 60-question multiple choice examination that lasts for 1 hour.
  • Level 2 is a 3  hour and 15 minute written examination, answering three questions, one compulsory and two from four optional questions.

Level 1 determines the candidate’s knowledge of the subject, sufficient to allow them to contribute to risk management within a project.

Level 2 determines the candidate’s knowledge, understanding and capability in the subject, sufficient to allow them to undertake formal project risk management.

The learning outcomes for the qualification are detailed in the APM Project Risk Management Certificate syllabus

View other qualifications and standards



APM Project Fundamentals 
Qualification (PFQ)

View PFQ

APM Project Management 
Qualification (PMQ)

View PMQ

APM Project Professional 
Qualification (PPQ)

View PPQ

Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.