PMO of the Year Award 2021

This category is designed for those PMOs that want to stand out as a beacon of driving project success and project management maturity in the way that they enable their organisations to deliver successful and sustainable change, develop project community and challenge themselves to become trusted business partners. 

The judges are looking for evidence of a PMO’s positive contribution to their organisation, delivery of consistent and demonstrable outcomes and development of the project management capability and community.  

We require entrants to this category to produce a submission of up to 3,000 worddetailing how they have met the judging criteria. Entrants may also submit up to four supporting images or graphics only (no text apart from captions). Video and audio is not accepted as part of the submission. 

The PMO of the year award consists of two stages, the first stage is the written submission mentioned above and the second stage requires all finalists to present virtually to a panel of judges. It is open to organisations across all sectors globally.

View full category criteria

In addition to the below finalist announcement, the judges of this category felt the calibre of entries as a whole was extremely high and would also like to highly commend the following entries:

  • Atkins EDP PMO, Atkins
  • Civica Group PMO, Civica
  • Corporate Portfolio Office, Health Education England
  • Data Futures PMO, Data Futures - Home Office
  • Equinox - Programme Delivery Partner (PDP) Joint PMO (JPMO), Jacobs, Turner & Townsend and DE&S
  • Strategic change PMO, University of Liverpool
  • The MTC PMO, Manufacturing Technology Centre


PROJECT: Peru Reconstruction with Changes PMO 
ENTERED BY: Autoridad para la Reconstrucción con Cambios (ARCC) 

The Peru Reconstruction with Changes PMO is delivering a wide range of activities for the Peruvian government including building schools and hospitals destroyed by the 2017 El Nino Floods, and flood mitigation work to prevent future devastation. Most importantly, in parallel the PMO is leading an organisational change programme imparting knowledge for Peruvians to become self-sufficient in delivering capital infrastructure programmes across the country. 


PMO: Client Services PMO 

The Client Services PMO is a portfolio, programme and project management office supporting the delivery of complex programmes for BT’s Enterprise customers. Since being established in the summer of 2019, the PMO has been on a radical transformation to launch new services and dramatically increase its maturity. It has established a robust methodology, launched an industry leading tool, setup strong governance and reporting arrangements, improved the likelihood of successful delivery and now manages the assignment of 850 professionals. This has led to the improvement of key business metrics including successful project delivery and customer satisfaction. 


PMO: P2/Selfridges PMO 
ENTERED BY: P2 Consulting 

P2 worked with Selfridges, to support the delivery of a customer transformation programme, known as the 2020 Programme. Investing in PMO was crucial to its success. Given the size and complexity of this change programme, Selfridges needed a partner aligned to its organisational culture to deliver this programme, which would be key in helping Selfridges achieve its strategic growth ambitions. The P2 / Selfridges PMO team met this challenge, and somewhat exceeded it, building a lasting PMO legacy for the business for future enterprise change initiatives. Together, Selfridges and P2 built the PMO of the future.


PMO: Scottish Water PMO 
ENTERED BY: Scottish Water 

Scottish Water’s PMO office has delivered multiple large capital investment programmes, with a focus on improving skills and capabilities in ourselves, our stakeholders and our customers and communities in Scotland. Over the last 3 years, as our operating environment has transformed, our bold decision to adopt best practice portfolio and programme management has increased the capabilities and professionalism of the service to our supply chain. This has allowed us to continually support increasing delivery efficiency. At less than 2% of the cost of the Investment programme, Scottish Waters PMO has increased investment capacity by over £100m per annum. 


PMO: Virgin Atlantic PMO 
ENTERED BY: Virgin Atlantic 

Our ePMO and project delivery community have totally transformed how Virgin Atlantic think about, plan and deliver change in a way that ensures we are always doing the right things, at the right time, with the right people to ensure we deliver against our organisational objectives and our vision the be ‘The Most Loved Travel Company’. Our story is one of agility at an enterprise scale delivered much quicker than anyone ever dreamed, in an industry bought to its knees; with data, automation and a successful ePMO at the very heart of it. 

Book your place today

Book now

Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.