View our carefully selected 2019 finalists, who have competed against a record number of entries with some stiff competition.


 Brian Willis Award

  • Winner announced on the night


Herbert Walton Award

  • Dr Simon Addyman – Charles Rymill Ltd (University College London)
  • Dr David Biggins – Bournemouth University


Geoffrey Trimble Award

  • Troy Lancaster – Amey (University of Warwick)
  • Sarah McLean– MOD (Cranfield University)
  • Andrew Campbell – Ryden LLP (University of the West of Scotland)
  • Becky Emly – Mott MacDonald (University, London South Bank)
  • Ross McMaster – Wood PLC (University of Manchester)


View category descriptions


 Young Project Professional of the Year Award

  • Jacob Achenbach – Rolls-Royce Crosspointe, LLC
  • Grace Blundell – Gate One
  • Laura Fenton - Gate One
  • Aimee Tweedie - BAE Systems
  • Emily Outten - DHL Supply Chain
  • Highly Commended: Ben Salmon - Heathrow Airport Ltd.
  • Highly Commended: Katerina Leckie - Gate One


Project Professional of the Year Award

  • Spencer Hobbs – Network Rail
  • Lucy Campbell-Gillingham - Hive Centrica Limited
  • Matt Woof - Jacobs
  • David Calver - North Highland


Sir Monty Finniston Award (Lifetime Contribution to the Profession) 

  • Winner announced on the night


View category descriptions 


 Technology Project of the Year Award

  • Ministry Of Defence: Royal Air Force, Defence Equipment and Support - Project CENTURION
  • Heathrow Airport - Integrated Airport Operations Plan and Demand Capacity Balancing Tool
  • Sellafield, Bechtel and Cavendish Ltd. - The Pile Fuel Cladding Silo Project
  • HM Passport Office (Home Office) - HMPO, Digital Customer Services


 Transformation Project of the Year Award

  • Rolls-Royce - Product Lifecycle System
  • Rolls-Royce Submarines Ltd. - Integrated Business Planning and Controls
  • PCUBED & Sellafield Ltd. - Lean Project Delivery 
  • Royal Mail Group Ltd - Supporting Retail in the Digital Age


Engineering, Construction & Infrastructure Project of the Year Award

  • Shell International - Shell Appomattox Project
  • Sellafield Ltd., Cavendish Nuclear and Balfour Beatty - Silo Maintenance Facility Project
  • Turner & Townsend - V&A Dundee
  • Arup - The Defence and National Rehabilitation Centre


Social Project of the Year Award

  • HM Revenue & Customs - Soft Drinks Industry Levy
  • North Cumbria Integrated Care (NHS Foundation Trust) - Maternity Information System
  • Transport for London - Low Emission Bus Zones
  • Home Group - Douglas Bader Park Regeneration Ballot Campaign


Overall project of the year Awards (chosen from the winners of the four Project of the Year Awards)

  • Winner will be announced on the night


Innovation in Projects Award 

  • Proteus – Proteus Learning Hub
  • Experian – Experian & Open Banking
  • RSPB – RSPB Renewable Energy Project


Programme of the Year Award

  • Network Rail and PA Consulting – Condor: the £1.5bn Sale of Network Rail Commercial Estate
  • Rolls-Royce PLC – Accelerated Maintenance Capacity Increase Programme
  • Conwy County Borough Council – Conwy Modernisation Programme


Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration

  • Loraine Martins MBE – Network Rail
  • Michèle Dix CBE – Crossrail 2, Transport for London
  • Projecting Success & Sir Robert McAlpine

View category descriptions


 Contribution to the Profession Award: Company

  • Sellafield Ltd.
  • BAE Systems
  • Babcock


Contribution to the Profession Award: Consultancy

  • Arup
  • Gate One
  • Program Planning Professionals Ltd. (PCUBED)
  • Turner & Townsend


Contribution to the Profession Award: Charity/Not-for-profit

  • Home Group PMO
  • The Scouts


PMO of the Year Award

  • GCHQ – Transforming and Operating GCHQ’s Enterprise PMO in our Centenary Year
  • BPP Education Group – Doing the Right Projects, Doing Projects Right 
  • Turner & Townsend – HMRC Locations Programme


Shell Health, Safety, Security and Environment (HSSE) Award

  • Turner & Townsend – MBNL HSQA Project
  • Arup – Healthy by Design Programme, HS2 Phase2b
  • Jacobs – Safely Delivering Risk Reduction in an Extraordinary Environment using Jacobs Beyond Zero® Principles
  • BAE Systems Naval Ships – Safety by Design


 View category descriptions


This year the APM Awards ceremony is set to return to Old Billingsgate, London on Monday 18 November where the 2019 winners will be revealed. Table packages range from bronze to gold, with the option of either a private table for larger groups of 10 or 12, or individual places on shared tables (silver and bronze only). Discounted rates available for APM members and employees of APM corporate partners. 

All table packages include the following benefits as standard:

  • Welcome drinks reception
  • Unlimited selected beers, wines & soft drinks
  • Sumptuous three course meal and coffee
  • Free entry to the official after party
  • Professional photo of you and your guests
  • Official Awards Programme

Discounted rates for table packages available for APM members and employees of APM Corporate Partners.


View table packages

View 2018 awards gallery

Join APM

Sign up to the APM Newsletter.