Skip to content

APM's New Outstanding Achievement Award

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

Association for Project Management (APM) has several initiatives to recognise individuals and their excellent achievements in support of our profession.

APM’s Board has decided to instigate a new award for individuals – The APM Outstanding Achievement Award. This is the highest APM award and is open to all; both project professionals and others. This new award replaces the Sir Monty Finniston Award. It will be decided on by the Board on the recommendation of its Nominations Panel.  A call for suggestions for the award will be made annually. 

APM now offers Volunteer Achievement Awards. There are five categories: Volunteer of the Year; Special Achievement; Event of the Year; Volunteer Innovation; and Branch of the Year. The winners for each award category are selected by the Volunteers’ Steering Group from the entries and nominations received. Recent winners can be seen here. Nominations for candidates will be sought in the Spring. 

APM Fellowship is a recognition of an individual’s professional standing and ongoing contribution to further the art and science of the project management profession as a practitioner, teacher or researcher. Applicants apply and nominate themselves for this grade of membership. They must be able to demonstrate they have made a major personal contribution to the profession. They must have been a Full member for at least five years or have 10 years of an equivalent level of experience in a senior position. Applications are decided on by the APM Membership Panel. We host exclusive events for Fellows with keynote speakers and many opportunities to network with other influential figures in the profession. Full criteria and how to apply are available here.

In common with other professional bodies, APM awards Honorary Fellowships. These are to recognise and celebrate individuals who would not meet the professional requirements of Fellowship. It is for those who are not project professionals but who have made a major personal contribution to the project management profession, achieving highly creditable, eminent and notable achievements in their own profession and careers. Honorary Fellowships are decided on by the APM Nominations Panel and can be awarded at any time. The number of Honorary Fellowships awarded is expected to remain restricted. Honorary Fellows can attend the same events and receive the same benefits as Fellows. New Honorary Fellows will be announced at Fellows Forum events. Full criteria are set out in the APM Regulations and here. Nominations can be submitted at any time.

Further detail regarding Honorary Fellowships is available here and nominations for Honorary Fellowship can be made using this form.


Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.