Skip to content

Finalists for APM Awards 2017 announced

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

APM is pleased to announce the finalists of the APM Project Management Awards 2017 sponsored by RPC UK Ltd, which this year features a broader choice of categories that provided an opportunity for entrants from a wider range of projects, programmes and industry sectors.

Leading practitioners and ground-breaking projects from a variety of organisations, ranging from Royal Mail to Rolls Royce will be competing for the highly-coveted APM Awards trophy on Monday 20 November 2017 at its new location of Old Billingsgate

The APM Awards has been recognising the invaluable contribution project management and project professionals make in all sectors of society for over 20 years. Alongside the finalists are also entries that have been merited as highly commended.

Programme of the Year 2017 sponsored by Program Framework saw an extremely high standard of entrants and saw programmes being submitted from leading organisations including Renfrewshire Council, Transport for London, Turner & Townsend and Incendium.

This high calibre of entrants was evident throughout the awards submissions, especially in the new categories section comprising the coveted Project of the Year 2017 category, sponsored by Hyde Park Solutions, which attracted entrants from across a raft of sectors, including organisations such as Rolls Royce, GCHQ and WYG who are finalists in;

  • Project of the Year: Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure,
  • Project of the Year: Transformation, 
  • Project of the Year: Specialists
  • Project of the Year: IT and Technology

Competing for the title of Project Management Company of the Year 2017 will be: Lloyds Banking Group, Royal Dutch Shell PLC (Shell), Department for Work and Pensions and the Coal Authority.

Project Professional of the Year 2017, sponsored by ATOS sees Mark Geoghegan from Defence, Equipment & Support placed in the finals for his work delivering a new range of Mk14 Chinook Helicopters, alongside category finalists Stewart Anadappa from Jacobs UK Limited and Atkins’ Christopher Mckinstray.

Overseas Project of the Year 2017, sponsored by Ramboll sees four of the industry’s heavyweights competing for the trophy. Babcock, Cogent Associates, BAE Systems and Rolls Royce have all put forward leading projects from across the globe, featuring Rolls-Royce’s work on the world’s most powerful aerospace gearbox and Babcock’s South Korean Jangbogo III project.

Focusing on those aged under 30 the Young Project Professional of the Year 2017, sponsored by Defence Equipment and Support (part of Ministry of Defence), finalists include Emily Matthews, Defence Equipment & Support; Jonathan Sayer from Cheshire East Council and David Cross of Rolls Royce plc.

Introduced this year, PMO of the Year 2017, sponsored by Wellingtone Project Management, sees a diverse mix of finalists from a wide range of sectors. Quintiles IMS, Fujitsu, The Open University and Arup all made the first cut for the awards' maiden appearance.

Also new for 2017 is Project Management Consultancy of the Year 2017. In its first year, the category sees some of the industry’s most respected organisations who are trusted to deliver some of the worlds’ biggest projects. The finalists are:

  • Pcubed
  • Arup
  • Turner & Townsend

With eight finalists in the running, APM’s Social Project of the Year 2017, sponsored by Provek Limited, is one of the fiercest battles in the competition. The categories saw entries from organisations ranging from Arup to RSPB, with all finalists backing class-leading social projects. 

Competing for the Geoffrey Trimble Award, sponsored by BAE Systems for the best Master’s post-graduate dissertation will be Clément Paul Victor Darfeuille, The Oxford Group (The University of Southampton); Deborah Susan Hather, Ministry of Defence (Cranfield University); Otlaadisa Naane, National Strategy Office (University of Sunderland) and Elitsa Stefanova, Pcubed (SKEMA Business School).

The Geoffrey Trimble Award is part of the academic awards sponsored once again by BAE Systems as they partner with the profession to ‘advance project management professionalism through education’.

The Herbert Walton Award, also sponsored by BAE Systems, will be given to the best PHD dissertation submitted during the year at Doctorate level and the Brian Willis Award will be handed out for the year’s highest mark gained in a PMQ (Project Management Qualification) exam.

Also handed out on the night will be the prestigious Sir Monty Finniston Award, which is the equivalent to a ‘lifetime achievement’ award recognising significant contribution to the profession.

The APM Awards ceremony on 20 November is set to be a night to remember as it will be hosted by political editor and presenter of the weekly Westminster round-up, John Pienaar, at its new location of Old Billingsgate.

See the complete shortlist of the APM Project Management Awards 2017 finalists.

Other categories to be awarded on the night include The Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration, sponsored by The Nichols Group and Shell HSSE Award 2017, sponsored by Shell.




Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.