Skip to content

APM Project Management Awards 2019 - New categories and a call for judges

Added to your CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Only APM members have access to CPD features Become a member Already added to CPD log

View or edit this activity in your CPD log.

Go to My CPD
Added to your Saved Content Go to my Saved Content

An important update for everyone looking to enter the renowned APM Awards (sponsored by RPC UK Ltd) this year – and potentially join the judging panel!

Category update

To reflect the evolution of the profession, a refresh of the award categories will take place over the next two years, including the introduction of two completely new categories in 2019:

  • Innovation in Projects Award – This category will focus on project delivery, recognising new, unusual and effective methods.
  • Contribution to the Profession Award – this new category will consist of three sub categories – Company, Consultancy and Not-for-Profit/Charity. It has been introduced to recognise the contributions organisations are making towards improvements in project management practice and developing project management teams.

In 2020 APM will introduce a new Awards event celebrating APM’s emphasis on education, research and careers in the profession. This will run independently to the main APM Awards and will provide the opportunity for further recognition of achievements in education and research.

Category descriptions and criteria will be available on the APM website when entries for the 2019 Awards open on Monday 29 April.

Call for judges

Last year we had a panel of more than 50 judges involved in assessing award entries and included project professionals from a variety of sectors. Becoming a judge not only enables professionals to get involved in celebrating industry successes, but it is an excellent opportunity to network with peers and to recognise what’s important in the profession both now and moving forwards. Judges will also earn CPD hours for taking part and places are open to Chartered Project Professionals, APM Fellows, Honorary Fellows of APM, APM Award winners from the last two years and those holding the RPP qualification.

Debbie Dore, Chief Executive of APM said: “The APM Awards offer project professionals the chance to achieve the recognition they fully deserve and that’s why we’ve updated the award categories this year – to reflect the direction of our profession.

We’re looking for judges to join our panel who have recognised experience and a track record of success in project delivery - those who really understand the challenges involved in the profession and wish to reward excellence.”

If you’re eligible to be an APM Award judge, you’ll be contacted by email shortly with details of how to apply. Those applying will be informed of the outcome by Friday, 29 March.

Successful applicants will be expected to attend a face to face training day or webinar in early June before the judging takes place during June and July. Those judging certain categories will also be involved in judging second stage presentations from the finalists in September.

Winners will be announced at the 2019 APM Awards ceremony which will take place at Old Billingsgate, London on Monday 18 November.

Full list of the APM Award Categories 2019:

  • Brian Willis Award (Academic)
  • Herbert Walton Award (Academic)
  • Geoffrey Trimble Award (Academic)
  • Sir Monty Finniston Award (Lifetime Contribution to the Profession)
  • Shell Health, Safety, Security and Environment Award
  • Mike Nichols Award for Inspiration
  • Programme of the Year Award
  • PMO of the Year Award
  • Innovation in Projects Award
  • Award for contribution to the profession: Consultancy
  • Award for contribution to the profession: Charity/Third Sector
  • Award for contribution to the profession: Company
  • Young Project Professional of the Year Award
  • Project Professional of the Year Award
  • Technology Project of the Year Award
  • Transformation Project of the Year Award
  • Social Project of the Year Award
  • Engineering, Construction and Infrastructure Project of the Year Award
  • Overall project of the Year Awards (chosen from the winners of the four Project of the Year Awards)



Join the conversation!

Log in to post a comment, or create an account if you don't have one already.